MODAL PERFECT

MODAL+ PERFECT TENSE:
FORMS :
->1. S + COULD + HAVE + V3
->2. S + MAY + HAVE + V3
->3. S + MIGHT + HAVE + V3
->4. S + MUST + HAVE + V3
->5. S + SHOULD + HAVE + V3
->6. S + SHOULD not + HAVE + V3
->7. S +  WILL + HAVE + V3


1. S + COULD + HAVE + V3

We had a chance / an ability to do an activity     We had a chance / an ability to do an activity  in the past but he / she didn’t do it because of in the past but he / she didn’t do it because of a certain reason.
->Why didn’t Tom apply for the job? He could have gotten it.
->Why did you stay at a hotel in Jakarta?  you could have stayed with your uncle.

2. S + MAY / Might + HAVE + V3

To say what was possible in the past
=>A   : I wonder why Ann didn’t answer the doorbell.
=>B  :  Well, I suppose she may have  been asleep.

->A  : Why didn’t he say hello when he passed us  on street.
->B :  He might have been day dreaming.
-+>A  : I can’t find my bag anywhere.
-+>B : You might have left in the store.
->A  : I wonder why Jill didn’t come to the meeting.
->B  :  She might not have known about it.
3.  S + Should + have + V3
We use this form to say that someone did the wrong thing.
=>>The party was great. You should have come. Why didn’t you?
=>>I feel sick I should not have eaten so much chocolate.
=>>You should not have been listening to our conversation.It was private.
4. S +  MUST + HAVE + V3
This form is used to make deduction / conclusion
->A :  They quarrelled quite often and whenever they quarrelled they threw plates at each other.    ->B : They must have broken a lot of plates.

=>>A  : A lot of his students didn’t pass the English test yesterday.
=>>B  : The test must have been difficult.


5. S + WILL + HAVE + V3

WILL + HAVE + BEEN + V1 ing
->I started teaching in this school in  December last year.So by the end of this year I will have been teaching in this school for 1 year.
->I visit Bali every year.  I always visit it in December.
->I started visit Bali 5 years ago. So by the end of this year I will have visited Bali 6 times.

Leave a Reply

