PREPOSITION

PREPOSITION:

AT-> We use At with times :
->at 5 o’clock    ->at 11:45    ->at midnight
Carol usually leaves work at five o’clock.
But we usually leave out  “AT” when we ask
( At ) What time  ……….. ?
What time are you going  out this evening?
We also use at  in this expressions :
->1. At night
->2. At Christmas / Easter
->2. At the moment / At present
->4. At the same time
->5. At the age of ….
->6. At the begining
->7. At the end of …..
On ->We use ON with dates and days :=>>
1. On  March 12 th           On Friday( s )
2. On Christmas day          On Saturday night ( s )
3. On Friday morning         On weekends
IN ->  We use in for longer periods of time ( months, year, season )
1. In 1987
2. In winter
3. In March

We use “at” an  “event”:
For example :
->1. At a party
->2. At a concert
->3. At a conference
->4. At a football game
->5. At the movie

=>>1.Were there many people at the party?

=>>2.Were there many people at the meeting?

=>>3.I saw John at the football game on Saturday.

=>>4.I saw John at the concert on Saturday.
We say  :=>>
->1. at work
->2. in bed
->3. at a station
->4. in prison
->5. at an air port
->6. In prison / jail
->7. at  the sea shore
->8. on a farm
->9. at sea
->10. in the hospital

->I will be at work until 5:30.
->Can you meet me at the airport?
->Have you ever worked on a farm?
->Tom’s father is in the hospital.

You can say be home / stay home without “at” :=>>
We will be out during the day but we’ll be (at) home all evening.
->1. I didn’t go out last night.
->2. I stayed ( at ) home.

Use “at / in”  before school or college:->>
->1. John will be in / at school for 2 more years.
->2. Tom is away at / in college right now.
->3. She is  majoring in civics at / in Los Angeles College.


We often use “in or at” with buildings.

->We went to a concert at Arts Center.
->The meeting took place at the company’s main office.

->Where were you last night? at the theater.
->We say at someone’s house:
->I was at Tony’s house last night.

But  use “in” when we are thinking  about the building istself.

->The rooms in Tom’s house  are very small.
->I enjoyed the movie but it was very cold in the  theater.
We usually use “in”  with towns or villages.
->Tom’s father lives in Jakarta.
->Tono works in Tanggulangin.

But we use “at” when the town or village is a point on a journey.

->Does the bus stop at Malang?
->This train is going to stop at  Banyuwangi.

We say arrive “in” a country  or town:
->When did he arrive in Japan?
->When did he arrive in Tokyo?

We say arrive “at” with other places / building or events.->>
->What time did he arrive at school?
->what time did he arrive at work?
->What time did he arrive at hotel?
->What time did he arrive at the party?
We say arrive home ( without preposition )=>>>        ->When did he arrive home?

1. to pay by check
->Did you pay by check or in cash?
2. by accident / by mistake / by chance
->We haven’t arranged to meet. We met by  chance.
3. a play by shakespeare  / a painting by Afandi    ->Have you read any books by Alexanders?
4. In love with
->Have you ever been in love with anyone?
5. In ( my ) opinion
->In my opinion  the film  was not very good.
6. in time
->Will you be in time for dinner?
7. on time
->The 11.45 train left on time.
->The conference was well organized. Everything began    on time.
8. on fire
->Look ! That car is on fire.
9.  on the telephone / on the phone
->I’ve never met her but I’ve spoken to her on the phone.
10. on television / on the radio
->I didn’t watch the game on television. I listened in  on the radio.
11. be / go on a diet :
->I am very fat so I have to  go on  a diet.
12.  on strike :
->There are no trains today. The  railroad workers are on strike.
13. on vacation / on business / on trip / on a tour /    on  a expedition / on  a cruise
->Did you go to Paris  on business or on vacation?    ->One day I ‘d like to go on a world tour.
but you can say :  go to a place for vacation
->Tom has gone to France for a vacation.
14. for breakfast / for lunch / for dinner
->What did you have for lunch?
15.  go  / come for a walk / for a  swim / for a meal
->She always goes for a walk with her dog in the morning.After work, he went to restaurant for a meal.

ADJECTIVE+ PREPOSITION:=>>>
->1. nice / kind / good / generous / stupid / silly / intelligent of
sensible /  polite / impolite / rude / unreasonable of :    =>>Thank you.  It was very nice  of you to help me.    Thank you. It was very kind of  you  to help me.    It is stupid of her to go out without a coat.
->2.  nice  / kind  / good / generous / mean  / polite / impolite to
pleasant / unpleasant / friendly  / unfriendly / cruel to :=>>
he has always been very nice / kind to me.    Why were you so rude / unfriendly to me.
->3. angry / annoyed / furious about something    angry / annoyed / furious with someone for doing something    What are you so angry about?
They were furious with me for not inviting them to the party.
->4. delighted /pleased /satisfied /disappointed with something:=>>
I was delighted with the present you gave me.
Were you disappointed with your exam results?
->5.  bored / fed up with :=>>
You get bored with doing the same thing everyday.    I’m fed up with doing the dishes all the time.
->6.  Surprised / shocked / amazed /astonished  ( at / by ) :=>>
Everybody was surprised at / by the news.
I was shocked at / by the condition of the building.
->7.  Excited / worried / upset about something :    Are you excited about going on vacation next week?    Ann is upset about not being invited to the party.
->8.  afraid / frighten / terrified / scared  of something /someone :=>>
Are you afraid of dogs?
I am terrified of dogs
->9. proud / ashamed of someone / something :
->I am not ashamed of what I did.
In fact, I am quite proud of it.
->10.  Jealous / envious / suspecious of  someone / something:=>>
Why are you always so jealous of othe people.    He didn’t trust me. He was suspecious of my intention.
->11. aware / concious of something :=>>
Did you know they were married? No, I was not aware of    it.
->12. good / bad / excellent / brilliant at :=>>
I am not very good at repairing things.
->13. married /engaged to :=>>
Linda is married to an American.
->14. sorry about something :=>>
I am sorry about the noise last night.
->15. sorry for doing something :=>>
I am sorry for shouting at you yesterday.
->16. feel / be sorry for someone :=>>
I feel sorry for George. He has no friends and no money.    ->17. crazy about something :=>>
Ann is crazy about English lesson.
->18.  impressed by / with someone / something :
I wasn’t  very impressed by / with the movie.
->19. famous  for something :=>>
Jogya is famous for batik.
->20. responsible for  something;
Who was responsible for all that noise last night?
->21.  different  from / than  someone / something :    The movie was quite different from what I expected.
->22. interested in something :=>>
Are you interested in art?
->23. capable / incapable of something :=>>
I am sure  you are capable of passing the examanation.
->24. fond of something / someone :=>>
Jahn is  very fond of  animals.
->25.  full of something :=>>
The letter I wrote was full of mistakes.
->26. short of something :=>>
I am a little short of money.
->27. tired of something :=>>
I am tired of waiting. Come on and, let’s go.
->28. similar to something :=>>
Your writing is similar to mine.
->29. crowded with people :=>>
The city was crowded with tourists.

“VERB+PREPOSITION”->>
->1. search ( a person / a place / a bag ) for something / someone :
>>I have searched the whole house for my keys, but I still can’t find them.
>>The police are searching for the escaped prisoner.
->2. shout at someone ( when you’re angry )
>>He was very angry and started shouting at me.
->3. shout to someone ( so that they can hear you )    >>He shouted to me from the other side of the street.
->4. speak / talk to ( “with” is  also possible )    ( on the phone )
>>Hello, can I speak to Jane, please?
->5. suffer from an illness :
>>The number of people suffering from heart disease has increased.
->6. think about someone / something ( concentrate  the mind on, consider  ) :
>>What are you thinking about ?
>>Will you lend me the money. I’ll think about it.
->7. think of ( remember , have an idea ) :
>>She told me her name, but I can’t think of it now.    >>That’s a good idea. Why didn’t I think of that?

=>>>We also use think of when we ask for or give opinion :
>>What did you think of the movie?
>>I didn’t think much of it.
->8. wait for someone / something :
>>I am not going out yet. I am waiting for the rain to stop.

->1. accuse someone of ( doing ) something :
>>Tom  accused Ann of being selfish.
>>Three students were accused of cheating on the exams.
->2. ask someone for something :
>>I wrote to the company asking them for more   information    about the job.
but ask someone a question ( no preposition )    She   always asks me two questions.
->3. blame someone for something :
>>Everybody blamed me for the accident.
->4. blame something on  someone / something :
>>Everybody blamed the accident on me.
->5. borrow something from someone :
>>I didn’t have any money. I had to borrow some from Ann.
->6. charge someone with ( an offense / a crime )    >>Two men have been arrested and charged with robbery.
->7. congratulate someone on something :
>>When I heard that she had passed her examss. I called her to congratulate her on her success.
->8. divide / cut / split something into ….. :    >>The book is divided into three parts.
>>Cut the meat into small pieces before frying it.
->9. do something about something ( to improve situation )    >>The government should do  something about it.    ->10. point / aim something at something / someone :
Don’t point that knife at me! It’s dangerous.
->11.  leave ( a place ) for ( another place ) :    >>I haven’t seen her since she left hom for work this    morning.
->12. explain  a problem To someone :
>>Can you explain this word to me?
->13. invite someone To ( a party / a wedding )
>>Have you been invited to any parties recently?

Leave a Reply

