GRAMMAR EXERCISES 11

1. I … fried rice last night.
didn’t eat
didn’t ate
didn’t eating
wasn’t ate
wasn’t eaten
2. My sister can … well but I can’t.
cook
cooking
to cook
cooks
cooked
3. My daughter can …. neatly but my son can’t.
write
wrote
writes
to write
writing
4. I must … my assignment well today.
do
did
done
doing
to do
5. You may not … this wire. It is dangerous.
touching
to touch
touches
touched
touch
6. You should … your teacher’s explanation.
listen
listening
to listen
listened
listens
7. My brother will … his study abroad next month.
continue
continues
to continue
continued
be continued
8. My aunt may … my house next Friday.
visit
to visit
visiting
visited
be visited
9. You should not … late tomorrow.
came
to come
comes
being
be
10. You may not … a car on this street fast.
driving
to drive
drives
drive
driven
11. You must … patient if you study English.
being
to being
been
to be
be
12. We shall … you at the airport at 9 A.M.
meet
met
meeting
to meet
meets
13. The police will … you if you drive fast.
stop
to stop
stopped
stopping
to  be stopped
14. The car will … by mechanic tomorrow.
repaired
repairing
be repaired
to repair
repairs
15. The test must … in 30 minutes.
be done
to do
done
do
did
16. Students should … well.
be taught
taught
teaching
to teach
teaches
17. My house will … by my neighbor tomorrow.
be painting
be painted
to paint
painting
paint
18. I will … you tomorrow.
telephone
to telephone
telephoned
telephoning
be telephoned
19. You may not … at my house more than  3 days.
staying
to stay
stayed
stay
stays
20. The farmer will … rice in the rice field next week.
planting
to plan
plant
planted
plants
21. I must … my clothes now.
iron
ironing
ironed
to iron
be ironed
22. You may … to my house tomorrow.
comes
come
to come
coming
came
23. Students may… only two mistakes.
make
made
to make
making
makes
24. The lesson isn’t easy …
learnt
to learn
learning
learns
learn
25. The test is very difficult …
to do
do
doing
done
did
26. We must … newspaper to add our knowledge.
make
to make
making
made
makes
27. The sniper can … accurately.
shoot
shut
shot
to shoot
shooting
28. Many Children … in the beach yesterday.
playing sand
played sand
to play sand
plays sand
play sand
29. My sister … her house every morning.
clean
cleaning
to clean
cleans
cleaned
30. You can … these exercises at home.
do
did
done
doing
does
31. My friend … to Bali last Tuesday.
went
go
gone
going
goes
32. Ryan … his car carefully last Wednesday.
drive
drove
driven
to drive
driving
33. Some taxi drivers can … their car well.
drove
drive
drives
driving
to drive
34. Traffic policemen … busy in the rush hours.
are
is
was
be
being
35. A postman … my letters last Thursday.
bring
brought
to bring
was brought
bringing
36. Many people … cigarettes nowadays.
smoke
smokes
smoking
to smoke
smoked
37. That bus usually … outside my house.
stop
stopped
to stop
stops
stopping
38. I … at SMA 1 Gresik some years ago.
worked
working
to work
work
works
39. My uncle comes to Bali … Sundays.
in
at
on
about
into
40. Somebody … my bike at my house yesterday.
steal
steals
stolen
stole
to steal
41. My  friend … a new house in Solo last month.
builds
building
to build
build
built
42. A lion … from the zoo last week.
escaped
to escape
escaping
escapes
escape
43. Ryan … English fast so I couldn’t understand him.
spoke
speaking
speaks
speak
to speak
44. My son … all the food on the table last Friday.
eating
ate
eaten
to eat
eats
45. I … to call you yesterday.
forgets
to forget
forgotten
forget
forgot
46. My mother … me much money last Saturday.
gave
to give
gives
give
given
47. I … this shirt all by myself last Monday.
makes
to makes
making
make
made
48. I … 100 dollars a year to rent this house.
pay
paid
to pay
paying
pays
49. My parents will … me about it.
telling
to tell
tells
tell
told
50. I … a letter to the correct address.
didn’t sent
didn’t send
wasn’t sent
weren’t sent
didn’t sending

Leave a Reply

