GRAMMAR EXERCISES 15

1. My hair is too long so I should … it now.
cutting
to cut
cut
cuts
have cut
2. My knife is not sharp so I have to … it
sharpen
to sharpen
sharpens
sharp
sharpened
3. Everybody should … tomorrow at 7 a.m.
being
be
to be
comes
came
4. My son may … his study  next year.
finishing
to finish
finished
finishes
finish
5. You should …  me now.
help
helping
to help
helped
helps
6. You should … your English vocabulary.
add
adding
to add
adds
to be add
7. You can …  me now if you want.
left
leave
leaves
leaving
to leave
8. Mother must … tired because of hard work.
be
being
to be
been
becomes
9. I should … this class at 8 a.m. because of meeting.
leaves
leaving
to leave
left
leave
10. You must … your assignment today.
submit
submitting
to submit
submits
submitted
11. Helen isn’t in the class today she may … sick.
be
being
to be
been
becomes
12. She will … a teacher in our school tomorrow.
becomes
to become
to be
been
become
13. Alex … the English lesson yesterday.
didn’t attend
wasn’t attend
isn’t attend
hasn’t attended
mayn’t attend
14. My car … repaired in the workshop over there.
was
were
did
do
does
15. The new plane … by an experience pilot last week.
has been flown
flew
fly
was flown
flying

was
were
be
been
to be

She hadn’t cooked for me.
She hasn’t cooked for me.
She haven’t cooked for me
She wasn’t cooked for me
She weren’t cooked for me

Good students get scholarship.
Good students got scholarship.
Good students getting scholarship.
Good students will get scholarship.
Good students would get scholarship.

I did my homework
I do my homework
I have done my homework
I had done my homework
I  was done my homework

Don’t touch my book
Not to touch my book
Not to touch her book
Didn’t to touch her book
Doesn’t to touch her book
21. The lesson … 10 minutes later.
will be continued
will be continuing
will be continue
will continue
will to continue

wasn’t taught
weren’t taught
haven’t been taught
hasn’t been taught
taught

is
am
are
been
to be

If I can repair that radio.
If I could repair that radio.
If she could repair this radio.
If could I repair that radio.
If could she repair that radio.

Open the door behind you.
Open  the door behind me
To open the door behind me.
Opening the door behind me.
Opens the door behind me.

loves
love
loving
to love
be loved

He went to Bali last year.
He have gone to Bali last year.
He had gone to Bali a year before.
He goes to Bali last year.
He has gone to Bali a year before.
28. My brother …in the forest with his friends last Monday.
went hunting
goes hunting
go hunting
has gone hunting
goes to hunt
29. My friend … from the diving board yesterday.
jumped
jumping
jumps
jump
to jump
30. The floor of my house … three times but it still looks dirty.
have been swept
has been swept
was swept
were swept
sweeps
31. Swimming in the river … dangerous.
are
is
to be
be
being
32. To answer that question … easy.
isn’t
aren’t
not being
not to be
doesn’t
33. To play golf … a lot of money.
costs
costing
cost
to cost
coast
34. To be a doctor … a lot of money nowadays.
need
needs
needed
is needed
to need
35. Being a qualified teacher … easy.
is not
are not
not be
does not
do not
36. My computer program … advantageous for all of us.
is
are
become
to become
to be
37. The class … 45 students last week.
consists
consisted
consisting
to consist
consist
38. Traffic jam always … in big cities in in my country.
happens
happening
to happen
happen
happened
39. The room … dark so I can’t read this newspaper well.
is
to be
are
be
being
40. There …many wild animals in the forest many years ago.
are
is
was
were
been
41. Helen said,”I taught English last year.Helen said that … .
She had taught English a year before.
I taught English a year before.
I taught English the following year.
She taught English the following year.
I had taught English the following year.
42. There … many passengers in that bus two days ago.
are
is
were
was
been
43. Our school will … by the minister of Education tomorrow.
visit
to visit
be visited
visiting
to be visited
44. My mother … in Bandung three days ago.
was
were
are
be
is
45. Everything … ready since yesterday.
is
has been
have been
was
were
46. I … by my brother three times.
have been telephoned
has been telephoned
telephoned
have telephoned
has telephoned
47. It … cloudy now so I have to bring my umbrella.
was
is
to be
will be
were
48. The train could … on time yesterday.
come
comes
came
to come
coming
49. That horse … to my uncle.
belonging
belong
belongs
to belong
to be belong
50. The gardener is going to … the grass behind my house.
cutting
to cut
cut
to be cut
cuts

Leave a Reply

