GRAMMAR EXERCISES 17

1.  The man … new car is being washed over there is my neighbor.
whom
whose
who
that
in which
2.  The girl … I helped yesterday is the daughter of minister of education.
whom
whose
of whom
that
in which
3.  I know the name of the girl … is standing near my sister well because she is my neighbor.
whom
whose
who
which
in which
4.  The man … is watering the plants in the garden is Mr. Bowo.
whom
whose
who
that
in which
5.  I don’t know exactly about the man over there …. I have known him once.
therefore
because
so
that
that is why
6. I know the book … you bought at Gramedia book shop yesterday is good.
whom
whose
who
that
in which
7.  The apples … my son put on the table is good for our health.
whom
whose
who
that
in which
8. The tall girl … umbrella is yellow can teaches English well.
which
of which
who
that
in which
9. Some students … have difficulties about English lesson may get extra lesson here.
which
of which
who
that
in which
10. That boy has been late ten times … his teacher reminds him not to be late again.
unless
so
who
when
whenever
11. Few students … have been late three times are not allowed to get in the class.
which
whose
whom
who
whenever
12. The room … have not been occupied for years will be used as English class soon.
which
whose
whom
of which
whenever
13. The tree … has been planted for more than ten years now it produces a lot of fruit.
which
in which
whom
of which
whenever
14. You may study in this school … you pass the test.
whom
so
as long as
before
whenever
15. Monica sit down on the floor … all chairs have been occupied.
because
so
as long as
before
whenever
16. Melissa continues her study in Australia … her parents have business there.
because
so
as long as
before
whenever
17. Some of students are confused … their teacher hasn’t explained clearly.
therefore
as long as
before
whenever
because
18. Shanty sometimes gets some assignment from her teacher… she has to study hard.
therefore
so
before
whenever
because
19. The road … leads to Wonokromo is being repairer.
of which
in which
which
whenever
because
20. It going to rain … please bring your rain coat with you.
which
when
whenever
so
because
21. Please tell me … .
where do you live.
where you live.
where are you live.
where is my live.
where does my live.
22. I am sure that the man … is teaching English in this class graduated from abroad.
whom
who
whose
where
which
23. Our lecturer … graduated from Tokyo university can operate computer well.
whom
who
whose
where
which
24. The students … has long hair will not be allowed to attend the class.
whom
who
whose
where
which
25. The old cars … were produced before 1984 are not allowed to pass this street.
whom
who
whose
where
which
26. I have forgotten to put the wrist watch … I bought in Korea last year.
whom
who
whose
where
which
27.The animal … you shot when it was climbing the tree is squirrel.
whom
who
whose
where
which
28. You have to ride your motorcycle with helmet … the police will stop you.
because
otherwise
therefore
so
in case
29. What you drove yesterday afternoon … expensive.
must
must be
were
are
have to
30. You can’t swim in this river … it is very deep.
before
after
therefore
so
because
31. My historian can explain about Padri war well … all students can understand easily.
A. before    B. after
C. so           D. therefore
E. because
32. I think … all my students can speak and write English well.
that
after
which
so
because
33. I guess the test … will be done by students is not so difficult.
before
after
which
so
because
34. I can follow the explanation … is delivered by my computer teacher.
that
after
so
because
then
35. Please bring me the book … I put on my table yesterday.
which
whom
whose
of which
who
36. The program of education … applied in our country last five years was not good enough.
that
who
whom
whose
of which
37. The glass of coffee … you made yesterday is very sweet.
which
of which
in which
who
whom
38. I am interested in Everything …explained in my class yesterday because it can improve invention.
of which
in which
that
who
whom
39. The radio …my little brother bought from Australia last month  has very good design.
of which
in which
that
who
whom
40. The T- shirt … is being ironed by my wife has beautiful color.
of which
in which
that
who
whom
41. Living in village is more peaceful than in city .. its people and environment.
because
because of
so
therefore
unless
42. The room …. is being painted by brother in law large enough.
which
whom
whose
of which
who
43. The train … left for Bandung yesterday had a lot of passengers.
which
who
in which
whom
of which
44. The apple trees .. have been planted by my grand father produce many apples
because
who
which
whom
of which
45.The well …I always take some water for taking a bath and drinking is deep.
because
who
which
whom
from which
46. The best teacher in our school … family live in Malang  teaches history.
who
whose
which
whom
from which
47. It was raining hard in Surabaya yesterday… flood happened in many places around  there.
so
why
unless
because
because of
48. You may use my bike … you clean it after you use it.
which
that
as long as
therefore
so
49. Anita’s sister studies night and day except the weekends … she has to refresh her mind.
because of
because
unless
as long as
therefore
50. Tommy’s brother didn’t continue his study abroad … his parents didn’t have enough money for it.
because of
because
unless
as long as
therefore

Leave a Reply

