GRAMMAR EXERCISES 5

1. Students … swimming and diving.
likes
like
to like
liked
liking
2 My brother …  milk last night.
drinking
drank
drunk
drinks
drink
3. Shanty … his mother everyday.
visit
visited
visiting
to visit
visits
4. It … Sunday yesterday.
is
was
were
are
will be
5. We lived … Jakarta last year.
in
at
on
under
over
6. I want … abroad with my sister next year.
studying
to study
study
studied
studies
7. The view of Bromo mountain is really ….
beautifully
lovely
marvelously
wonderfully
fantastically

8. There are many books on the table.
Many books are on the table.
Many books is on the table.
Many books was on the table.
Many books were on the table.
Many books be on the table.
9. My son … many English books.
don’t have
doesn’t have
don’t has
doesn’t has
doesn’t have to
10. My mother and sister … shopping yesterday.
goes
went
go
have gone
has gone
11. My English teacher … in Bali last two years.
lives
lived
living
life
to live
12. My cat … a mouse in the kitchen of my house.
ran after
ran into
ran
ran out of
ran down

13. My son … from this University last year.
graduate
graduated
to graduate
graduating
graduation
14. His English … good enough now.
are
is
am
was
were

15. I … any lessons two days ago.
didn’t studying
didn’t studied
didn’t study
didn’t studies
not study
16. She …. any money today.
don’t have
doesn’t have
didn’t have
didn’t has
doesn’t has
17. One of teachers in this school … swimming.
like
likes
liked
to like
look like
18. My mother’s hobby … cooking.
is
are
be
were
am
19. I … teaching in 1986.
start
to start
starting
started
starts
20. I … him in this class last Wednesday.
didn’t see
didn’t saw
haven’t seen
don’t see
doesn’t see
21. Everybody … me everyday.
helps
help
to help
helping
helped
22. No body … late today.
come
came
to come
coming
comes
23. Everything around here … us happy.
make
to make
making
makes
made
24. No body … in you because you always lie.
believes
believing
believed
to believe
believe
25. Some students in this class  … naughty.
is
are
was
am
will
26. We … our car on this road last Monday.
drives
drove
driven
to drive
driving
27. Frogs … afraid of snakes.
are
is
was
will
am
28. Mosquitoes … our blood.
sucking
sucks
suck
to suck
sucked
29. My mother is a teacher. She … everyday.
teach
teaching
to teach
teaches
taught
30. His father … English in America three years ago.
studying
studied
to study
studies
study
31. My grand mother … many years ago.
passed away
pass away
passing away
to pass away
passes away
32. My brother … a lot of money last Sunday.
gave
given
to give
gives
give
33. My sister … her house last year.
doesn’t sell
don’t sell
didn’t sell
wasn’t sell
wasn’t sold
34. I … many letters from my brother last year.
receive
receives
received
receiving
was received
35. My son … lazy to study English last Saturday.
am
was
were
have been
is
36. My son … milk every morning.
drink
drank
drinks
drinking
to drink
37. My son … milk yesterday morning.
drink
drank
drunk
drinking
drinks
38. My wife … yesterday because she was sick.
didn’t cooking
didn’t cook
didn’t cooks
wasn’t cook
wasn’t cooked
39. His daughter always … the best in the class.
becoming
to become
becomes
became
become
40. Rudy … Kuta beach last August.
visiting
to visit
visit
visited
visits
41. I always … breakfast at 07.00 A.M.
have
has
had
having
have to
42. My teacher … the lesson clearly yesterday.
explained
explaining
to explain
explanation
explains
43. Tony … his teacher’s explanation yesterday.
didn’t pay attention
didn’t paid attention
doesn’t pay attention
don’t pay attention
don’t paid attention
44. Alex helped me … my car yesterday morning.
pushes
pushing
pushed
push
be pushed
45. Hartini and Anita … in Bali yesterday.
was
were
are
is
had
46. I … my friends to come to my party yesterday.
invite
invited
invitation
inviting
to invite
47. My mother … some eggs and flour yesterday.
buy
buying
to buy
bought
buys
48. I … a new car last Friday.
didn’t buy
didn’t bought
don’t buy
doesn’t buy
wasn’t buy
49. My sister … her baby everyday.
spoon feeding
spoon feeds
spoon fed
spoon feed
spoon fat
50. I … books in the library everyday.
read
reads
reading
to read
red

Leave a Reply

