GRAMMAR EXERCISES 6

1. I … tired after I worked hard.
fell
fall
fallen
felt
feel
2. Swimming can … us healthy.
make
makes
to make
making
made
3. Our plan can’t …  without enough money.
apply
be applied
applies
application
to apply

4. Some people … smoking but some don’t.
likes
like
to like
likely
liked
5. Nothing can … you happy.
make
makes
to make
making
made
6. You should … your name right here.
write
writing
to write
writes
written
7. Three of my friends in Jakarta … teachers.
am
is
are
was
being
8. The wind … smoothly in here every morning.
blows
blowing
to blow
blew
blown
9. My little son can … motorcycle well.
riding
to ride
rode
ride
rides
10. My daughter must … English course here.
take
took
taking
takes
taken
11. Malang … one of towns in East Java.
am
is
are
was
were
12. My car will … by my brother.
buying
to buy
bought
buys
be bought
13. You  ought to … all  your brother if you can.
help
helps
helping
to help
helped
14. You must … here before 6 p.m.
being
to be
be
been
are
15. My uncle … in one of villages in Blitar.
lives
living
to live
live
leaf
16. Gajahmada university … the best.
is
am
are
to be
being
17. That naughty boy must … patiently.
advised
advise
to advise
be advised
advising

18. You must … things that you need.
prepare
to prepare
preparing
be prepared
prepares
19. You must … your letter here.
signing
to sign
signs
signal
sign
20. The naughty boy must … .
punish
to punish
be punished
punishes
punishing
21. Please, don’t write anything … the wall.
in
on
at
under
over
22. Shinta may … as the manager of this factory.
choose
chooses
chosen
be chosen
to choose
23. You can … me now.
leaves
leaving
left
to leave
leave
24. Rudy … some money today.
need
is needed
needed
needs
to need
25. Please, … my books from this table !
don’t move
not move
don’t be moved
don’t moves
don’t being moved
26. Electricity … expensive nowadays.
is
are
was
were
being
27. Water … by all people in the world.
needs
is needed
need
to need
are needed
28. Money … important to buy anything.
be
is
are
being
to be
29. Watching TV too much … to study.
makes you lazy
to make you lazy
making you lazy
make you lazy
is made you lazy
30. Reading can … your knowledge.
adding
to add
add
adds
added
31. Don’t … if you fail your exams.
sad
be sad
to be sad
too sad
sadly
32. Someone … about you yesterday.
tells me
telling me
to tell me
told me
tell me
33. No one … about you if you are naughty.
care
to care
caring
cares
being cared
34. My father … reading that newspaper.
finish
to finish
has finished
has been finished
finished
35. My mother’s hobby … cooking.
is
are
be
being
to be
36. My son … at 5 p.m. yesterday.
take a bath
to take a bath
taking a bath
takes a bath
took a bath
37. The boy scouts … camping fire last night.
made
makes
make
to make
making
38. Some of my students … in Sidoarjo.
living
to live
lives
live
being lived
39. My goal … to help you understand English.
is
are
be
being
to be
40. My point of view … to improve my English.
is
are
be
being
to be
41. Let’s … English at my school.
study
to study
studying
studied
studies
42. I saw Mr. Ali … the street with his son.
to cross
crosses
crossed
be crossed
crossing
43. I felt this school …
shaking
shakes
to shake
shook
be shaken
44. I noticed Totok … football in the yard.
played
to play
playing
played
be played
45. Two of robbers … by the police yesterday.
was shot
were shot
have been shot
shoot
to shoot
46. Physics … the most difficult subject for me.
is
are
to be
be
being
47. Electronics … interesting to study.
is
are
be
to be
being
48. The news … important for us.
is
are
be
being
to be
49. She could … her speech well yesterday.
delivered
delivering
to deliver
delivers
be delivered
50. The thief … by some people here last Friday.
is caught
was caught
has been caught
to be caught
caught

Leave a Reply

