GRAMMAR EXERCISES 7

01. George ……. here since 7 o’clock.
has stayed
has been staying
have stayed
stayed
is staying
02. I ….. know English well.
don’t
didn’t
wasn’t
doesn’t
hasn’t
03. You may not ……. your car very fast on high way.
drives
driving
drove
drift
drive
04. Megawati …… Indonesia some years ago.
leads
led
leader
leading
lead
05. Anita always …… before going to office.
having breakfast
has breakfast
have breakfast
have to breakfast
to have breakfast

06. He ……. help her uncle in the field.
have
has
have to
has to
had
07. The sun always …… in the east.
rises
rose
risen
raise
rise
08. The lion is … than deer.
strong
stronger
strongest
more strong
the most strong
09. Both English and Arabic …… important Languages.
is
are
were
was
be
10. Frogs can … … well in the water.
swim
swimming
swimmer
swam
swimmer
11. I speak English and my brother …… .
did too
do too
does too
has too
do either
12. My wife …… me very much.
love
loves
loving
lovely
lover
13. ….. the door slowly, please!
shut
shuts
shutting
to shut
shut to
14. Please, …… the rubbish over there!
A. burn
B. burning
C. burns
D. to burn
E. burnt
15. …… my picture over there!
A. put
B. putting
C. put on
D. to put
E. puts
16. My wife  doesn’t like a cat but ….
A. I do
B. I am
C. I did
D. I were
E. I have
17. My wife doesn’t speak Japanese well and ………
A. I didn’t too
B. I didn’t either
C. I do too
D. I don’t either
E. I don’t neither
18. Everything ……. smoothly.
A. works
B. work
C. working
D. to work
E. have worked
19. My sister bought … umbrella last Monday.
A. an
B. a
C. the
D. two
E. three
20. No one …… his explanation seriously.
A. listen
B. listening
C. listens to
D. listens
E. to listen
21. The sun ….. in the west.
A. sets
B. set
C. setting
D. to set
E. sat
22. The titanic ship …… in the sea many years ago.
sinks
sank
has sunk
sink
to sink
23. Neither  Jimmy …. Alex is handsome.
or
nor
and
but
so
24. I have either house … car.
or
nor
but
and
so
25. I was here yesterday, and so …. Ali.
did
was
does
do
has
26. My wife always … me a glass of coffee in the morning.
makes
made
make
make made
has make

27. This bottle … full of water so we can drink it.
is
are
was
were
has been
28. Drive your car slowly … you can get an accident.
otherwise
if
but
and
or
29.The room is dark so I can’t …. anybody.
see
to see
to seen
seen
saw
30. The pool … a lot of fish so we can go fishing there.
have
had
have been
has been
has
31. The problem …..  well.
has not been solved
hasn’t solved
hasn’t been solving
have not solved
have not been solving

32. The thief ……. three times but he is not dead.
have shot
have been shot
has been shot
has shot
shoot
33.  …… book belongs to Jeremy.
This
Those
These
Its
It’s
34. I want to sell ….. car.
those
these
its
it
that
35.  …… letters have not been read yet.
They
Those
That
This
them
36. I like reading my books. I have read …… all.
those
these
they
them
that
37.  My sister drank coffee last Friday but I ……
I did
I didn’t
I do
I have done
I am
38. None of my friends ….. English fluently.
is
speaks
speak
spoke
speaking
39. Neither Marcus nor Betty ……. from Australia.
are
is
been
be
does
40. Either his writing or hers …… good.
is
are
has
have
be
41. Both you and I ….. students of SMA 6 Surabaya.
are
am
is
have
has
42. Everything ….. under my control.
is
are
has
have
been
43. George’s boat …… in the river last Wednesday.
has sunk
have sunk
sank
sink
sinks
44. Shanty ……. 2 lovely cars.
have bought
has bought
buys
buy
buying
45. Don’t ….. that knife! That is sharp.
touching
touch
touches
to touch
touched
46. No body is here today, but many people ….. here yesterday.
was
were
have been
has been
been
47. The day after tomorrow students are going to …. .
have a party
has a party
having a party
held a party
holding a party
48. I …. happy now, but I was sad last Thursday.
am
was
were
do
did
49. We have improved …. English fast.
my
mine
us
our
ours
50. I like Herman because he  is … honest boy.
the
an
a
some
few
51. My mother ……. the floor of her house every morning.
sweeping
swept
sweep
sweeps
to sweep
52. Let’s …..  our class room.
clean
to clean
cleans
cleaning
cleaned
53. I felt this house ….. .
shakes
shook
shaked
to shake
shaking

54. My girl friend always makes me ……
studying hard
so study hard
studied hard
study hard
studies hard
55. This room …… once a week.
was cleaned
cleaned
cleans
is cleaned
to clean
56. Few students …… many mistakes.
makes
to make
have made
has made
has been making
57. None of your answers ….. true.
has
is
have
were
are

58. Everything …. by my students.
has been done
have been done
has done
have done
has been doing
59. Bali …… a lovely island.
are
has
have
is
had
60. Some students bring ….. money.
few
a few
little
several
many
61. Please, ….. here ! I want to buy tickets.
waiting
to wait
waits
wait
waited
62. I have some books, but Tony hasn’t ….
any books
no books
nothing books
little books
a little books
63. I haven’t a lot of money, ………
so have she
so has she
neither has she
she has either
neither hasn’t she
64. The river was empty yesterday, but it …. full now.
was
were
is
are
has
65. The lesson …… by Mr. Marcus two days ago.
Has explained
Have explained
Has been explaining
Has been explained
Was explained
66. She ……… her work.
has not finished
have not finished
was been finishing
was finished
is finished
67. My car …… by her car last night.
has pulled
has been pulled
has been pulling
was pulled
were pulled
68. Your English can ……. If you study hard.
better
be better
became better
being better
to be better
69. The students should ….. here now.
be
being
have been
came
comes
70. The red car ….. by the owner now.
washing
is washing
is being washed
was washed
has washed
71. A five – star hotel ……. near my house next year.
will be build
will biuld
will be built
is going to build
built
72. I didn’t …… to my birthday party last Sunday.
invites
invited
inviting
to invite
invite
73. Now I have 2 English books, tomorrow I am  going to buy ….
other
the other
some others
another book
others books
74. Either English …. biology is important for my students.
but also
and
or
nor
but
75. The plane can …. because of bad weather.
landing
to land
landed
lend
land
76. You look pale, you should ….. your doctor soon.
see
seeing
to see
saw
seen
77.  You must not ….. your car  because this place is not safe.
parked
to park
to be parked
parking
park
78. Computers can ….. people finish their works well.
helping
to help
help
helped
be helped

79. The system of education in this school ….. good enough.
are
is
has
have
were
80. Neither Budi nor I ….. happy now.
am
is
was
were
have
81. Japanese troops ……. Indonesia many years ago.
have colonized
was colonized
was colonized
were colonized
colonized

82. The roses in the garden …. beautiful.
is
are
was
were
have
83. One of good high schools in Surabaya ….. SMA 6.
were
are
have
is
has

84. Shinta doesn’t have any brothers, and Tina …….
did too
does too
have too
doesn’t either
do either
85. I can play the piano well, and Rudy ……
can too
too
does too
do either
does either
86. The bank …… by the robbers many times.
has robbed
has been robbed
have been robbed
were robbed
are robbed
87. Fish can swim and frogs can ……….
either
neither
so
too
nor
88. I have one house, I will buy two …. next year.
others
the others
another
the other
others house
89. Some money ……  for building a house now.
is
are
was
were
have
90. My brother ….. his military service since he was 20 years old.
gave
gives
will give
has given
will have given
91. Because of heavy rain, the city…… for several days.
flooded
is flooding
has been flooding
is flooding
was flooded
92. Water …. when it is heated.
will evaporate
evaporates
evaporate
can evaporate
to be evaporate
93. “Where are the children?”They ….. in the garden.
play
are playing
have been playing
has been playing
played
94. I ….the street when it began to rain.
am walking down
was walking down
have walked down
would walk down
have been walking
95. It ….hard when you came back.
will be raining
rains
has rained
was raining
have rained
96. She doesn’t need “becak” because …..
She will buy a bicycle.
She is buying a bicycle.
She has bought a bicycle.
She is going to buy a bicycle.
She will be buying a bicycle.
97. It is ….. dark outside.
get
gets
got
getting
gotten
98. Any will arrive a week …. today.
ago
before
after
buy
that
99. Can the students ……. ?
speak English fluently
speak fluently of English
fluently spoken English
spoke English fluently
speaking fluently English
100. What time ….. breakfast?
do you have
you have
you having
you do have
you are having

Leave a Reply

