PREPOSITION of TIME

The baseball game will start at 2:30 p.m.
This café opens at noon and closes at midnight.
Try to be there by 2 o’clock.
The train will arrive in an hour.
I must leave in a few minutes.
He goes to work early in the morning.

Ray’s birthday is on November 18.
They stayed for three weeks.
We saw them often during the summer.
I have been there since 1955.
Call me again after 10 o’clock.
Why don’t you stay until ( till ) Sunday?
I’ll be there until ( till ) 5 o’clock.

I’ll call you at the beginning of the week.
You’ll receive your check at the end of the month.
Let’s have lunch sometime in the middle of the week.

On Sunday they left for Europe.
The store opened on May 23, 1960.
On May 10th they left for Europe.
They too a trip in June.
They moved to Boston in July, 1955.
They took a trip to Japan in 1954.

We waited for fifteen minutes.
We waited for two hours.
We waited for several hours.
We waited for a long time.

It rained a great deal during the winter.
It rained a great deal during the year.
It rain a great deal during April.
It rained a great deal during 1955.
It rained a great deal during the spring semester.

I have been here since five o’clock.
I have been here since May 10th.
I have been here since noon.
I have been here since June 1952.

ON TIME means on schedule.
IN TIME  before the appointed time.
LATE    after the appointed time
I always come to school on time.
My students come to the class in time.
John always comes late.

John works from 8.00 to 5.00.
He works  from 7.00 until 5.00.
We drove from Surabaya  to Malang  in two hours.
Tina helped me from 9.00 to 12.00.
Rina helped me from 9.00 until 12.00.

I’ll pick you up around 7 o’clock.
It is now about 5 o’clock.
The lesson starts around 7 o’clock.
The game will start about 5o’clock.

Leave a Reply

