SOAL BAHASA INGGRIS 21

1. The oldest means of transportation is the …….. .
train
cart
ship
bicycle
horse

2. A means of transportation that doesn’t need fuel is the ……. .
aircraft
ship
car
cart
motorbike

3. Diesel engines use ….. as their fuel.
kerosene
gas
gasoline
have diesel oil
palm oil

4. A Steamboat is a steam ….. boat made for going on rivers and along coasts. The steam is a gas produced by boiling water.
powered
fueled
filled
moved
steered

5. Pavements or sidewalks and zebra crossings are for pedestrians because ……….
Cars and other vehicles are dangerous.
Pedestrians have their rights to be safe during walking
Vehicles must stop before the zebra crossing.
Pedestrians must walk on the sidewalk
Drivers have no rights to walk on the pavement

6. People work for …….
living
wages
income
fulfilling their need
all are correct

7. With her/his money, a person can buy many things except ……
meals
love
houses
clothes
vehicles

8. If we are healthy, we will be able to do the following activities, except ……
think clearly
speak fluently
act perfectly
cry loudly
work efficiently

9. The responsibility of the government and private sectors is ……
to provide health services
to take care of rich people
to create jobless citizens
to build expensive buildings
to pay the school fee of rich people

10. A crop that does not need much water is ……..
cassava
rice
sweet potato
tomato
cabbage

11. A: Adam loves me very much.B:…………………………………..
It can tell from his way of looking at you.
I don’t think so
Is that what you feel?
I don’t like to hear that
All are correct

12. A : How do you feel about his speech?B:…………………………………
Well , I think it was just fair
If you ask me, I’ve got to say that it was disappointing.
In my opinion it is good enough
Well not bad I think
All are correct

13. Born farmers are those who …….
Study farming in the institute of farming.
Study farming in the institute of agriculture
Study farming by reading books
grow plant according to their elders’ way
Grow plants with the help of the department of agriculture.

14. A : You look so busy these days. B: Yes, I have a lot extra work to do …. my secretary is on vacation.
When
because
although
until
if

15. A: What does your son usually do in the afternoon? B: He usually …. a nap.
take
is taking
takes
took
was taking

16. Son : May I play outside with my friends, mom? Mother : No, you ….. stay in bed.
must
can
should
may
will

17. Dave : Did you advise her …. to the police? Brian: No I didn’t like ….. any advice on such a difficult matter.
to go – to give
going – to give
to go – giving
going – to give
go – give

18. I saw you ….. unsteadily last night. Why? Were you sick?
walk
to walk
walking
walks
be walking

19. Ben was ….. with this experience. His …… was reflected in his way of talking.
please – pleased
pleased – pleasure
pleasant – pleasure
pleasure – pleasing
pleasing -pleases

20. A: David’s …. made everybody …… B: Really? What was the cause?
angry – annoyed
anger – annoying
angrily annoyance
anger – annoyed
angry – annoyance

21. Which of the following is an expression of “Love”.
Oh …. Thanks Dad, it’s a nice present.
I’ sorry, I can’t go with you
I’m afraid.
So, please leave me alone.
Yes, I think so

22. Lisa :My brother doesn’t want to answer my call. He must be angry with me. Yesterday, I lost his favorite novel. Oh … I’m so sad. Mary : You must say sorry to him. The dialog above expresses:
pain
embarrassment
love
sadness
happiness

23. Dennis : Mom I didn’t get a C in any of my tests. Mother : Oh ……
How pleased I am to hear that
It makes me relieved
You must be very satisfied
What do you think of celebrating it?
All answers above are correct

24. Angel : you look so busy these days. Tommy:Yes, I have a lot of extra work to do …… my secretary is on vacation.
when
because
although
until
if

25.Vera : Are you going to the show? Jim : No, I ……. . I am supposed to baby sit my sister.
shouldn’t
may not
can’t
wouldn’t
mustn’t

26. Son : May I play outside with my friends, mom? Mother:No, you ……. Stay in bed.
must
can
should
may
will

27. A : What does your son usually do in the afternoon? B : He usually ….. a nap.
take
is taking
takes
took
was taking

28. X :How long have you waited for me? Y : Well, I have waited for you …. two hours.
for
since
until
when
during

29. Roni : Have you heard that Jerry failed in his exam? Dina : Oh, he has? That’s too bad.We know that Dina feels …. know that Jerry failed in his exam.
sad
happy
sorry
annoyed
angry

30. The students …. an art examination at 9 o’clock a.m yesterday.
had
are having
were having
will have
have

31. Dwi : What did you bring in your bag?Danang : I brought some ……..
new English magazines interesting
interesting English new magazines
new magazines interesting English
Interesting new English magazines
English interesting new magazines

32. Mrs Hadi opens the door and the postman gives …. parcel.
him
her
hers
she
his

33. Mother …. TV at the living room while father was washing a car.
watched
was watching
watched
watch
watching

34. Yesterday I ……to Surabaya to see a friend of mine.
go
have gone
had gone
am going
went

35. A: How long have you known Roy? B: I have known him.
yesterday
for a long time
tomorrow
now
a month ago

36. A: Is it raining? B: No, it is not. But the ground is wet. It ……..
yesterday
for a long time
tomorrow
now
a month ago

37. Last night I bought a pair of…shoes.
sport
sports
sporting
sported
sportive

38. When we meet a friend or someone at night, it good to greet him/her by saying ……
goodbye
good luck
good night
good evening
good afternoon

39. I have known her ….. she was a child.
since
for
in
after
because

40.You can …. at school as long as you like.
stay
staying
to stay
stayed
stays

41. The train started when we … to the station.
come
comes
came
coming
to come

42. They …. it again later.
do
have done
will do
will be doing
will have done

43. I …… a book when he came in.
be reading
were reading
was reading
am reading
has been reading

44. He …. her a long time before he finally got married to her.
knew
had known
has known
knows
to know

45. If we don’t get there before seven, they ….. everything.
will have eaten and drunk
shall have eaten and drunk
had been eating and drinking
have been eating and drinking
can have eaten and drunk

46. I hope it ….. raining by five o’clock.
shan’t have stopped
hasn’t stopped
hadn’t stopped
won’t have stopped
won’t stop

47. They dressed after they …….
had washed
has washed
will have been washing
will have washed
were washing

48. By next Sunday you …. with us for five weeks.
will have been staying
shall have been staying
had been staying
has been staying
should have been staying

49. I saw a rat while I ….. my shoes.
have been looking for
had looked for
was looking for
was looked for
have looked for

50.The boy fell down while he …
runs
was running
were running
had run
has run

Leave a Reply

