PREDIKSI – UNAS 3

CHOOSE THE CORRECT ANSWER

01. The secretary asked me  ….. with Mr Slamet

  1. did I have an appointment
  2. how was my appointment
  3. whether I had an appointment
  4. when is my appointment
  5. that I had an appointment

02. Displayed at the International Trade Fair, ……..

  1. Indonesian handicrafts received a lot of attention from European importers
  2. European importers were attracted by the Indonesian handicrafts on display
  3. a lot of attention was given to Indonesian handicrafts on display
  4. the display of the handicrafts at the trade . fair attracted a lot of attention
  5. Indonesian received a lot of attention from European importers due to its handicrafts

03  Which of the following sentence has the correct

      punctuation?

  1. The teacher told the students, “Don’t use pencils in exams!”
  2. I he teacher told the students: don’t use pencils in exams!
  3. The teacher told the students, don’t use pencils in exams.
  4. The teacher told the students don’t use pencils, in exams!
  5. The teacher told the students; don’t use pencils in exams.

04. Not earning enough to support her children after her husband’s death,………

  1. the woman decided to work in Saudi Arabia
  2. a better‑paid job is definitely required
  3. her children need to be trained to work
  4. special training is required to improve her skills
  5. her children should be put into an orphanage

05. Ruined by the earth quakes, ……………

  1. the village was left uninhabited
  2. the inhabitants left the village
  3. there were no inhabitants in the village
  4. no inhabitants were found in the village
  5. finding no inhabitants in the village

06. The young mother cautiously tiptoed into the bedroom in order not to wake up ………

  1. the sleeping children
  2. the children slept
  3. the children were sleeping
  4. the children sleeping
  5. the sleeping of the children

07. ‘Having been defeated three times in a row, the boxer decided to give  up fighting’ means

  1. Although he was defeated three times in a row, he .decided to give up fighting
  2. He decided to give up fighting after he had been defeated three times in a row.
  3. As he has decided to give up fighting, he was defeated three times in a row
  4. He decided to give up fighting, so he was defeated three times in a row
  5. When he ‑decided to give up fighting, he was defeated three times in a row

08. I heard her screaming when the accident happened this morning. This  means ….

  1. I heard the accident and she is screaming
  2. I got the accident and she was screaming
  3. She was screaming when the. accident happened
  4. She got an accident and I was screaming
  5. I heard screaming when she got accident

09. “This is the last flight from Jakarta, but I don’t see my daughter among the passengers.”  She ……..  the flight.”

  1. must miss
  2. must have missed
  3. should miss
  4. should have missed
  5. ought to have missed

10. “I’ve lost a lot of money by investing it in your friend’s business.” “I’m sorry; you ……..about his business.”

  1. had better consult me
  2. should have consulted me
  3. would rather consult me
  4. must have consulted me
  5. ought to consult me

11. Had I realized that Tim was a bad driver, I …. mycar.

  1. would not lend him
  2. did not lend him
  3. will not tend him
  4. had not lent him
  5. would not have lent him

12. “Look at all those broken street lamps.” “They …… a long time ago.”

  1. should repair
  2. should have been repaired
  3. ought to repair
  4. must have been repaired
  5. must be repaired

13   “1 am sorry I don’t know the answer, but I really wish I ……..

  1. know
  2. will know
  3. knew
  4. had known
  5. have known

14. Yudi   :You look tired.. Lack of sleep?

      Nazar: Yes, I wish I had gone  to bed earlier, but I couldn’t

      From the underlined sentence we may conclude that Nazar ……

  1. went to b6d late’
  2. went to bed early
  3. had enough sleep.
  4. had too much sleep
  5. had gone to bed early

15. ‘Having covered the typewriter, she turned the

       light off,’ means:

  1. While turning off the light, she covered the typewriter
  2. She turned the light off when she covered the typewriter
  3. She covered the typewriter, then she turned the light off
  4. She turned the light off as she was covering the typewriter
  5. Since she had turned the light off, she covered the typewriter

16. She: wishes she hadn’t forgotten her promises.’ This. means that ……

  1. she tried not to‑forget her promise
  2. she did not ‑forget her promise
  3. she ‑forgot her ‑promise.­
  4. she would forget her promise
  5. she could not forget her promise

17.”I finally bought a computer but I’m not satisfied

      with it.”  “That’s too bad. You ……             Darno, our

      computer technician, for advice.‑”

  1. should have asked
  2. may have asked
  3. ought to ask
  4. must have asked
  5. would ask

18. ‘Did you buy the computer?      ‘No, but I would

       have if my father ……..

  1. had given me the money
  2. would have given me the money
  3. would give me the money
  4. was giving me the money
  5. gave me the money

19. Doni: I wish I had invested my money instead of

       spending it on a new   car.   The underlined part of the sentence

       means

  1. Doni had invested his money
  2. Doni did not invest his money
  3. Doni did not invest my money
  4. Doni does not invest his money
  5. Doni wanted to invest his money

20. If we went to bed early every night, we wouldn’t

be so tired all the time. In fact that ………

  1. we go to bed early every night
  2. we went to bed early every night
  3. we went to bed so late every night
  4. we didn’t go to bed so late every night
  5. we go to bed so late every night

21. The librarian asked me ……………..

  1. why had I returned my book?
  2. Whether I had returned my book
  3. When did I returned my book
  4. That I returned the book
  5. Where was the book I had returned

22 Ornamented with beautiful, traditional Balinese  carving, …….

  1. many foreign tourists are curious to visit the house.
  2. the antiquity of the house is admired by many  tourists
  3. tourists guides often bring their guests to visit the house
  4. the owner of the house allows tourists to visit and admire its beauty
  5. the house of a local resident becomes an object of tourism

23. While investigating the alleged corruption in the

      government agency,

       ……..

  1. unidentified phone calls threatened the team members
  2. unidentified people called team‑members to threaten them
  3. threatening phone calls were received by the members of them
  4.  the phone calls received by team‑members were threatening them
  5. the members of the team received threaten­ing phone calls

24. ‘Harry could. not pay his school fee because his father was 

unemployed.’   ‘

       His rich uncle …… him with his school fee.

  1. may support .
  2. should have supported
  3. would rather support
  4. will have supported
  5. might support

25.‘Harry arrived home very late last night, but he

      said he went straight home from work.’ 

      ‘He must …….. in a traffic jam.’

  1. caught
  2. be catching
  3. have been caught
  4. have caught
  5. be caught

.26.‘I’m glad Adi’s academic performance has

       greatly improved this semester.’      ‘I bet, he …….. hard for that.’

  1. should have worked
  2. has to work
  3. must have worked
  4. would work
  5. ought to have worked

27. I wish you …..  to stay at home because I’m sure

you would have enjoyed the concert very much.

  1. didn’t have
  2. hadn’t had
  3. hadn’t
  4. don’t have
  5. haven’t had

28. “Did Mr Setiawan have any complaints about me?

“He wishes you …………  so late all the time.”

1. weren’t

2. haven’t been

3. aren’t

4. won’t be

5. didn’t

29. A   :How could the collision happen?

B    :The police said that. the car …..  the bus on  the winding road.

  1. didn’t have to overtake
  2. will not have overtaken
  3. shouldn’t have overtaken
  4. mightn’t have overtaken
  5. couldn’t have overtaken

30 ‘I can’t find my mobile phone in my bag!’

       ‘Well, you ……. in the car. Let’s take a look!’

  1. may have to leave it
  2. had to leave it
  3. should have left it
  4. may have left it
  5. must leave it

31.   ‘Do you know where my shocks are?

        ‘Well  the maid … …..  Why don’t you ask her?

  1. may have to wash it
  2. had to wash it
  3. should have washed it
  4. may have washed it
  5. must wash it

32.   ‘I called him several times yesterday but there was no answer.’

‘He ……. out of town.’

  1. should have been
  2. would rather so
  3. might have been
  4. had better be
  5. would have bee

33.  A: ‘Sorry, you are too late. The bank is already  closed.

     B : Well, I … earlier.

  1. A.. should have come
  2. might have come
  3. would have come
  4. will have com e
  5. may have come

34.   ………… in the demonstration.

  1. I ordered them to not become involved
  2. B  I ordered not to become involved to them
  3. I ordered them not to become involved
  4. I ordered to them become not involved
  5. I ordered become not involved to the

35.  I told him ………………….

  1. to take the first turning to the left.
  2. take the first turning to the left.
  3. you take the first .turning to the left.
  4. taking the first turning to the left.
  5. that he takes the first turning to the left,

36. Having finished their exam, …………..

  1. the books must be returned to the library
  2. the library requires the books to be returned
  3. the library requires students to return the books
  4. the students must return the books to the library
  5. it is required that students return the books to the library

37. Painted at the beginning of the l9  century, ……….

  1. the artist became world famous
  2. the art critics considered it a classic
  3. the people couldn’t understand abstract ail
  4. the museum purchased it for its collection
  5. E the painting was very valuable

38. …….for five years in the marketing department, I

       feel well qualified to apply for the job of

       marketing manager      advertised in the newspaper

  1. Worked.
  2. Having worked
  3. Have worked
  4. I have worked
  5. To work

39. Running down the stairs, she slipped and broke

      her legs. The underlined words mean: ………….   down the stairs.

  1. While she was running
  2. B  Because he was running
  3. As she was running
  4. After she run . ‘
  5. In order that she could run

40. I heard her screaming when the accident

happened this morning. This means

  1. I heard the accident and she is screaming
  2. I got the accident and she was screaming
  3. She was screaming when the. accident happened
  4. She got an accident and I was screaming
  5. I heard screaming when she got accident

41. I am sorry I cannot go to the airport to see my

       mother off. I wish I…..to work over tonight.

  1. wouldn’t have
  2. hadn’t had’
  3.  haven’t had
  4. don’t have
  5. won’t have

42. “1 am sorry I don’t know the answer, but I really

       wish I ………

  1. know
  2. will know
  3. knew
  4. had known
  5. have known

43.If I had known that you were coming, I  …. you at the station.

  1. will meet
  2. may have met
  3. will have met
  4. would have met
  5. will be meeting

44.  1 could never have finished my work if my  brother ……..me.

  1. didn’t help
  2. doesn’t help
  3. hasn’t helped
  4. wasn’t helping
  5. hadn’t helped

45. He ……. if I had not reminded him.

  1. may forget
  2. . might have forgotten
  3. should forget
  4. may forgot
  5. must forget

46    ‘If all the students pass their final examination, the

          teacher will give a party for them at his house.’

        This means that ………….. at the teacher’s house.

A. there will possibly a party

B. there is no party

C. there has to be a party

D. there has been a party

E. there was a party

47. The music next door is very loud. I wish. someone turned it down. The underlined sentence means

  1. I will turn the music down
  2. someone turns the music down
  3. I ask someone to turn the music down
  4. I feel annoyed with the music next door
  5. Someone asks me to turn the music down

48. Tina: I’m afraid, I can’t finish my work.

       Evi : I wish I could help you. From the dialogue we can conclude  

       that  I ….Tina.

  1. can’t help
  2. won’t help
  3. didn’t help
  4. hadn’t helped
  5.  doesn’t want to help

49.  Having switched off the light, …..

  1. it was the door he locked
  2. the door was locked
  3. this locked the door
  4. the door was locked behind him
  5. he locked the door

50.  Having sent his letter of application, ………

  1. the company was expected to send a quick reply
  2. Bimo expected to get a quick reply
  3. a quick reply was expected from the company
  4. they expect the company to send a quick reply
  5. It was expected that the company would send a quick reply

Leave a Reply

